Home About Us | Finding Parent Establishing Paternity Establishing Order Collecting Payments Where the money goes Child Support Calculator ASK YOUR QUESTION Job Openings Near You Get Help During Covid-19
Q) I have paid $31200 in back child support through the state of Texas and the state of New Mexico has been the collection agency. Now New Mexico has my license suspended for non payment of child support. What do I need to do to get new mexico to reinstate my license?
A) According to New Mexico MDV – Individuals, whose driver license and/or vehicle operating privileges have been revoked, suspended, denied, canceled or disqualified may apply for reinstatement as specified by law.
Requirements for reinstatement vary. In addition, it is possible for a driver to have more than one adverse action on record, which will require compliance with the reinstatement requirements for each separate adverse action.
Please Note: Section 66-5-33.1 NMSA 1978 mandates payment of a reinstatement fee by any individual whose driver’s license or vehicle operating privileges have been suspended or revoked. When multiple adverse actions appear on a driver’s record, only one reinstatement fee transaction will be posted and collected.
Every first-time applicant for a New Mexico driver’s license who is 25 years of age or over and who has been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, shall submit evidence with his application that he has successfully completed a bureau-approved DWI Prevention and Education Program. The “None for the Road” program offered by UNM can be taken to satisfy this requirement.
If the applicant’s license has been suspended for points, he or she must take the Traffic Safety Bureau (TSB) approved 8 hour Driving Safety course. A list of participating schools can be found here.
If a violation requiring the imposition of a revocation or suspension occurred in a commercial motor vehicle, there may be a CDL disqualification imposed in addition to the revocation or suspension. The term of the disqualification may be different from the term of the revocation or suspension. You must check both the disqualification and the revocation/suspension prior to reinstating a driver who has a conviction for a violation, which occurred in a commercial motor vehicle, and reinstate only the class of license for which the applicant is currently eligible.
The applicant must be told that reinstatement is based upon information and eligibility on the date of the inquiry only. Any pending action will not be reflected in the driver’s current record.
Reinstatement of driving privileges after a 5-year or 10-year revocationrequires an “Order of Restoration” signed by a District Judge. The Court Order must be a certified copy. The applicant must pay a reinstatement fee. http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/reinstate-a-suspended-license.aspx
your experience will be shared on childsupportoffice.us
State Child Support Offices
DISCLAIMER: This site is NOT affiliated with any government sites or agencies, this site is for informational purposes only. If you have questions about child support issues it’s always best you contact your local child support office.
There is no custom code to display.